top of page

Expert Tips on Being an OHS Student: An Interview with OHS Seniors

In this article, SASS interviewed seniors from the class of 2019 about how to be a successful OHS student. We hope that you find the advice here useful, whether you are a new middle schooler or even a senior yourself!

Q: What OHS-related program or amenity was most important to your success at OHS?

Taylor: Office hours and study groups have been most helpful for me; I've never used peer tutors before, but I've heard that they're quite helpful as well.

Madison: Attending office hours was integral to my success, as it encouraged me to stay caught-up on the material so that I could to ask my professor educated questions. Though I did not discover the value of OH until my second year at OHS, I am grateful that it is offered as a resource for students like myself to extend learning beyond the classroom.

Grace: Office Hours!!

Calder: Probably office hours. Any time I’ve been confused about some aspect of course material, I have been able to clear up my understanding by talking to my instructor. Office hours has been especially helpful if I’m stuck on a paper — teachers have always given me something new to think about which helps me get unstuck and move forward. Even if an assignment is going relatively well, hearing new ideas is always beneficial. Also, office hours are often more than just talking with your teacher about assignments and course material — some teachers open their office hours to general chit-chat about anything we want when students don’t have any academic questions, and others give you the opportunity to help other students with problems yourself. I have also developed closer relationships with my teachers in office hours than I could have otherwise.

It took me a few years of hearing how great office hours are to finally attend them regularly, so I probably can’t convince you to go, but you should know that they’re definitely worthwhile. While most of my academic success did come from studying on my own, I always got a lot out of office hours, most of which I could never have gotten from working on my own.

Ellis: Office hours.

Christine: Skype study groups, especially moderated ones with the instructor! Sometimes I can't wait for a peer tutor appointment because I need help urgently, and skype groups are great because anyone who knows the answer can help you, not just the instructor. If there are 50 people in the group, your chances of getting help are 50 times as good!

Aiden: Office hours and writing center.

Sreenidhi: Office hours and study groups.

Aleksandra: Office hours, the writing center, and study groups.

Q: What is one thing you wish you knew about OHS when you first joined?

Taylor: I wish I'd known how much I'd have to teach myself to keep up with some of my classes. My first semester in particular, I remember being really overwhelmed because my classes moved from concept to concept so quickly. Learning to study outside of school and use other resources really benefitted me.

Madison: When I joined OHS, I had no idea how warm and welcoming the community would be! My previous virtual school had failed to facilitate student interaction beyond learning so I had no idea a private school online could provide such a likeminded and inspiring student body.

Grace: It will be lots of work and every other full-time student is dying just as much as you are.

Ellis: It's actually worth it to communicate with your peers.

Christine: The social life is all on Skype! So get a Skype account, read through the Skype directory, and join any groups that sound interesting or that apply to you (your class group, for instance). And there are Skype study groups! These are truly invaluable sources of help when you need it in a hurry. Clubs are awesome and you should definitely join one or better yet, start one! Seriously, it's easy to start a club, and your club can very quickly become your favorite part of OHS.

Sreenidhi: The sheer diversity of students at OHS. Everyone is here for a different reason, and together we make up one of the most diverse communities I've ever seen.

Aleksandra: It takes a lot of work and you need to be ready to make some sacrifices but please don't give up everything in your life; make friends, take time off from work to relax and talk to them, and enjoy your life - academics shouldn't become your whole life.

Q: What advice do you have for handling academic stress?

Taylor: I find it's easier for me to break things down into smaller chunks. If I've got, say, a big essay that I'm worried about, I'll break it into steps: first I'll write the thesis and figure out what order my paragraphs will go in, then I'll find quotes, and then I'll come up with some bullet points analyzing each quote. From there, I've basically got all the content for my body paragraphs; I can just put everything together. In that way, my assignments become much less overwhelming.

Madison: I struggle with anxiety and perfectionist tendencies so I had to come to terms with the fact that it wasn't always feasible to do everything possible to achieve "the perfect grade." In order to submit high quality work without driving myself crazy, I took advantage of office hours and organized study groups (when permissible).

Grace: Sleep! (And focus back on what is most important in your life which for me means reading my bible.)

Calder: Whenever I have an especially stressful period with lots of things I need to do, I think back to previous times of stress and remember that I have always been able to get everything done. I tell myself that this time is no different, that I will be able to get everything done eventually, and that it will be over soon. That applies to periods when I have more than usual to do. To deal with stress from a regular amount of work, I’ve found that the most helpful thing is just to find something other than schoolwork to do occasionally, so that I’m not devoting all of my time to academics — this could be talking to friends, working on my own projects, or even going to office hours to chat with teachers and peers about non-academic things. Even an hour a week of this can be helpful.

Ellis: Plan and do things ahead of time.

Christine: Nothing is quite as effective as knowing your limits and taking on a reasonable course load! But if you are overwhelmed, the counseling service has excellent suggests to help you plan and get through everything sanely. Talk to them.

Aiden: Making a plan for how your going to get it done and working out.

Sreenidhi: Break up the material and divide the course load over a period of time. It helps in avoiding last minute stress and meltdowns before important deadlines.

Aleksandra: Find some outside activities to participate in (like sports) or a creative outlet (like writing, music) and talk to friends that you trust.

Q: What advice do you have for not procrastinating or finding motivation to do work?

Grace: Find an outside place that you only ever work at, which for me is a local coffee shop, and go there every time you can't focus at home. Don't allow yourself to do anything but work there (if you start to not work go home right away and procrastinate there). By distinguishing the location as a place you only ever work at you are tricking your mind into being more focused at that location.

Calder: I guess I have always been a procrastinator, but I have still been successful because I tend to put my work off just as much as I can while still producing work of quality. So, in some ways, trying to change this isn’t a top priority for me. However, I used to spend a lot of my “work” time getting distracted online, which both ate up much of my time and caused me to feel bad about myself, so I did want to change that. To solve that problem, I set a timer to go off every 15 minutes, and when it goes off, I mark in a spreadsheet whether I’ve been completely focused in the last 15 minutes, or whether I got distracted at any point. This has been very helpful: when I know any distraction will be recorded, I want to avoid it more, and it’s easier to stay focused if I break the vague goal of staying focused into small, achievable chunks.

Ellis: Pick off easy-to-do things first to build momentum. Or create artificial deadlines.

Christine: Don't give yourself the choice by installing a blocker such as Cold Turkey. If you don't have access to any distracting website or distracting apps, you have no choice but to study! I especially recommend blocking all search engines so that you can't find new distractions once your old ones are blocked. I thought I needed search engines for school, but once I blocked them I haven't needed them once! All I used them for was finding new ways to waste time online.

Aiden: Keep a detailed monthly calendar so you can visually see how much is going on at one time. Once you do this you will be motivated (and probably stressed) so you will start.

Sreenidhi: Take a shower, go on walk, drink some water. Give yourself a short break from the work and then come back to it. It also helps to watch some videos! Use a time limit if you feel like you'll waste too much time. Remember to take some time out for yourself, and come back to your work refreshed!

Aleksandra: Write down everything you have to get done and separate what's most important and needs to be done immediately and try to get that done. Tasks that take 2-5 minutes (like writing/responding to emails) can be done first and you can cross more off your list and feel more productive.

Q: Do you have a planner or to-do list system for OHS assignments? If so, what is it?

Taylor: I have one of those big calendars with a column for every family member--only, I use it for school. It works really well; each class has its own column, and I can record assignments and readings as needed.

Grace: Yes! I use a bullet journal and then I can draw out my planner in the way I like. I have a weekly page where I write out each day and then I list out all the things I want to do that day. When I am having trouble managing my time I will also create a daily page where I write out what I will do during the day in 30 min intervals.

Calder: Not really… Anytime I’ve tried something like this, I usually stop using it soon after I start. I have tried planning out in my calendar when I will be working on what assignments, but I usually deviate from that plan almost immediately, making it not very useful to me. I’ve found that keeping things in my head and checking Canvas regularly works fine. However, any time I have an especially large number of things to do, I usually just write all of them down somewhere (usually in a note on my computer) so I don’t forget anything.

Aiden: I have used my Corie Clark purposeful planner every single day for the past 2 years.

Sreenidhi: Yes, I do! I like to use a whiteboard to write down all my tasks so that I can always see it. I also recommend using some applications (such as "The Homework App") so that you can get reminders on your phone about important tasks and assignments.

Aleksandra: Planner!! Super helpful to keep track of assignments and plan ahead.

Q: Is there anything you wish you had done differently?

Taylor: I wish I had used office hours and extensions when I needed them. There were a number of times that I sacrificed my mental and physical health instead of asking for help, because I felt like it made me a weaker person. I wish I had realized that those resources are available for a reason, and used them instead of struggling.

Grace: I wish I had gone to office hours sooner and really gotten to know my teachers.

Calder: I started OHS in eighth grade, but only started using Skype regularly in junior year, after three years of basically never using it. It probably took me so long just because I was intimidated by not really understanding how people stayed in touch online (and also because I was worried I’d have a lot of messages to respond to when I finally opened it again). Once I started having Skype open regularly and had joined a few groups, I felt a lot more connected to the community than I had ever been. However, only starting last year has meant that I haven’t developed my online relationship skills as much as I would have if I had started earlier. Last year, I was mainly in general groups for the school, my classes, club leaders, etc., and not really staying in touch with friends much. This year, I’ve been communicating with a group of friends, but I still haven’t made a habit of talking to anyone individually. I feel that I could have had more valuable online relationships if I had started earlier. Also, almost all my friends I communicate with online are people I met in person, but I feel that if I had been communicating online longer, I could have made more friends online.

Ellis: I shouldn't have submitted that one paper an entire week late.

Sreenidhi: I wish I had finished standardized testing before senior year! Also, I wish I had started my senior year assignments and college applications earlier (hopefully over the summer!).

Aleksandra: I wish I had made some good friends earlier because it helps make the experience a lot better.

Q: What advice do you have for prepping for college applications before senior year? Is there anything you are very happy you did? Is there anything you wish you had done earlier?

Taylor: If you're able to visit a college or attend an information session, do. I found that some schools sounded good on paper, but didn't really fit me when I went to see them. Also, don't skip out on applying somewhere you really want to go just because you don't think you'll get in. The only way you're definitely not going somewhere is if you never apply.

Grace: You can never start soon enough. One thing I did that I liked was, starting the beginning of senior year, setting aside two hours every Saturday that I would work on college applications. That was the only time during the week I worked on them. I did a similar thing when studying for SATs and it means that you don't have to stress about working on college apps everyday. You know that you are going to work for two hours on Saturday and then you don't have to think about them for the rest of the week. It helps reduce stress.

Calder: In spring of junior year, I visited a number of colleges I was interested in, which was really useful for giving me a better idea of these places than I could have had otherwise. It was especially helpful to talk to professors in the departments I am interested in. I started writing some of my essays in the summer before senior year, which was kind of a bummer, but I really appreciated my past self once the year had started. Since I’m not graduating, I don’t have access to OHS college counseling, but meeting regularly with writing instructors from the Writing Center was extremely helpful for making my essays better.

Ellis: You should, like, do anything at all. Like write a common app essay the summer before. Just something.

Aiden: Understand that you can't do it all. Pick schools that you really love and could see yourself at, and focus on those. Visit many different types of schools over the summer (even ones you don't like) so you have a good sense of what you are looking for/avoiding. Do a little bit every day.

Sreenidhi: Start your drafts early and use the summer to the fullest (I wish I did this). Make a spreadsheet of all your applications and deadlines (this really helped me!) Stick to your timeline, don't procrastinate (even though its tough).

Aleksandra: Start your personal essay over the summer. Seriously. I started mine in June and I'm so glad I did because it takes time to develop your ideas and edit and adjust and it'll help so much by the time school starts again because you'll already have a good essay ready. For your regular decision schools, prepare your essays for your top few choices by late-November, go to the writing center to talk about your essays, talk to your college counselors early before winter break. Ask others to read your essays and give a second opinion, whether a parent or friend or teacher, because they can add a very helpful perspective.

Once you finish and submit all of your applications, give yourself a pat on the back and take some time off and relax and do fun things because you just finished a huge things and it's amazing!! Don't worry about decisions - you'll all get into a wonderful school where you'll be really happy, learn a lot, and make lots of friends and experiences!!

Q: What is your favorite thing about OHS?

Taylor: My favorite thing about OHS is the student body, as cliché as it may sound. Every OHSer I've met is so interesting, with a different set of stories and talents; I love being part of such a vibrant community. It's inspiring to be around other people who are equally passionate about learning and driven to create change.

Madison: My favorite thing about OHS is the likeminded community! I am grateful to be at a school where I constantly feel supported by high-achieving (AND super thoughtful) students.

Grace: The wonderful people (students and teachers) I have met!

Calder: I really can’t say one thing! The classes, teachers, and community are all some of the best I’ve ever experienced. I appreciate how the community is pretty much always welcoming and friendly; in my experience, it’s the norm for people to like and respect each other. OHS discussion sections are better than most real-life classes I’ve taken: the students are engaged and interested, and every teacher I’ve had has been great. (Also, in a physical classroom, any distracted students distract everyone else too, but the online classroom at OHS filters any of that out, making the experience more pleasant and focused.) One particular thing I have liked about OHS is the Core sequence and the importance of philosophy in the curriculum — I’m not sure I would have found I enjoyed learning about philosophy if I hadn’t gone to OHS.

Ellis: Learning interesting stuff.

Christine: Clubs! I've found a community that connects with my interests better than any I could possibly find online, so spending time with them is really meaningful.

Aiden: Teachers who are excited about what they are teaching.

Sreenidhi: The fact that I now have friends from two different corners of the world and another that's 4 miles away from me. I love the online community of people.

Aleksandra: The people. So cliche to say, I know, but I mean it! The teachers and the students are amazing! Talk to your teachers outside of classes and ask them things you're curious about and they're always there to talk and share things they know and it's an incredible opportunity because they're all so intelligent and open! I'm going to miss them so much! And of course the students - the student body is so diverse and unique and everyone is so passionate and has so many interests and inspiring and kind!

Q: Any other advice you would like to add?

Taylor: Don't sacrifice your health or your happiness for grades. Take breaks to do stuff that you love; get sleep if you need it. You are most important.

Grace: Try to enjoy your time in high school. You only get to be this age once!

Calder: Some advice I got from an instructor: There are some subjects you’re more interested in, and some you’re less interested in; everyone has some classes they want to devote more time to than others. It’s okay to focus more of your time and energy on the classes you’re most excited about. The instructor who told this to me was aware that, for some students, her class is one they decide to put less effort into — and that is okay with her. (Of course, you should still try, and put in a fair amount of work!) This is probably a good thing to remember if things are getting busy — especially if you remember that your teachers know it too.

Also, talk to your teachers about the best ways to approach studying and note-taking for each class. You may end up doing something different from what they say (I have), but it is helpful to hear what they think anyway. Ideally, each class’s notebook would include everything you learned in that class, but that’s probably not realistic, so you have to figure out what works best for your learning and what will be most helpful when reviewing material for exams and assignments.

Ellis: Go to as many social events as you can. Your schedule is yours; schoolwork can always be put off or done in advance.

Aiden: Remember how lucky we are to be OHS students!!

Sreenidhi: Senior year is hectic and senioritis is real, but you'll get through it!

Aleksandra: Work hard, study a lot, learn as much as you can, put in a lot of effort into everything you do, from a small homework assignment to a final exam. But don't forget that there is more to life than academics - you're all very unique in your own ways and don't forget to pursue your interests outside of school. It's hard to not get caught up in how others are doing and seeing so many other people who are better than you in certain subjects but don't let that make you think you aren't as smart - you're at OHS!! you're doing so well and are so smart and are learning so much and growing as individuals!! Focus on learning for yourself and improving yourself, not trying to be better than a classmate. Grades aren't everything, and an A doesn't mean average, even though it becomes easy to believe that. Make good friends - if someone isn't a good friend and is toxic, don't let them hurt you and cut ties if it's better for you. Keep your best friends close and don't forget to remind them how much you appreciate and love them. And remind yourself that you're doing really well and tell yourself that you're proud of yourself and that you love yourself. Enjoy your moments here and with your friends and family because time flies so quickly and before you know it, you're graduating! Good luck, you'll all do so well and I believe in you!! (Also don't sacrifice sleep often for studying!! Sleep and physical and mental health is really important and please look after it!)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page