top of page

Expert Tips on Revolutions and Rebellions: An Interview with an OH005 Peer Tutor

In this article, SASS interviewed Revolution and Rebellions peer tutor Xenya C. We hope that this article will help current and future R&R students in their academic journey!

What did you enjoy about Revolutions and Rebellions?

Xenya: This is such a difficult question, because I enjoyed everything about R&R! One of my favorite aspects of the course, though, was its approach to studying history. Rather than being a mere test of memorization of dates and facts (though those were still important to know!), it focuses more on understanding the events and how they relate to each other. It allows you to develop your own thoughts and arguments about the history you are studying (the first semester is dedicated to the American Revolution, and the second semester focuses on the French Revolution as well as the Haitian slave rebellion). And as a result, what you learn sticks with you, which is invaluable.

What challenged you the most in Revolutions and Rebellions? How did you overcome those challenges?

Xenya: The material is challenging, and unfortunately there’s no way around that! I found giving myself enough time to complete all of the readings, taking notes on the readings and during class, and communicating any questions with my instructor all to be helpful exercises.

What tips do you have that could be useful to students taking Revolutions and Rebellions?

Xenya: Reach out to your instructor! Instructors are such a valuable resource, and they are super helpful. Going to office hours to talk about ideas for upcoming papers was incredibly beneficial for me, and I would definitely recommend it!

Also (somewhat connected), do start on essays early. The papers for Revolutions and Rebellions require a lot of careful thinking, and it would be overwhelming to try to cram all of that deliberation (and writing) into a few hours of the day that the paper is due.

What was your favorite topic covered in Revolutions and Rebellions?

Xenya: This is difficult! I think it may have to be the section on emerging arguments for women’s rights around the time of the French Revolution, though. We read excerpts from Olympe de Gouges, Mary Wollstonecraft, and Judith Sargent Murray, and their arguments stick with me even now; I often find myself making connections between their writing and the material of my current classes.

What assignments did you enjoy doing in Revolutions and Rebellions?

Xenya: All of them! I really enjoyed the Brief Writing Assignments, which provide an opportunity to practice writing about the material in a setting less formal than the essays. I also really enjoyed the essays, though! Taking the time to carefully analyze the history and construct an argument can be a really fulfilling exercise, and I found all of the prompts fascinating and fun to write.

Did you have any experiences with Revolutions and Rebellions that could encourage those who are uncertain of the course to want to take it?

Xenya: R&R is one of my favorite courses (in the top two!) that I’ve taken at OHS. It taught me so much about how to think and how to write, and I still hold dear many of the things that I learned in it.

Xenya can be scheduled as a peer tutor through the Stanford OHS WCOnline Writing and Tutoring Center.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page